38 Things

Saturday was my 38th birthday and we got the best news ever. My HCG levels doubled to 637. Even better news came on Wednesday when we got an HCG level of 2,876! The hormone levels are more than doubling every 48 hours and that is a good thing!

So I am 5 weeks, 2 days pregnant. I know things can still go bad and I am not announcing it anywhere else but here (except to close family and friends). Once we get to 12 weeks we will, of course, tell the rest of the world including any remaining friends or family who doesn’t know yet. Our next step is an ultrasound around 7 weeks, which should show us a heartbeat. Soon I should be released to a normal O.B. doctor like a “normal” person.

Now that getting pregnant seems to be resolved I feel like I should figure out what I want to be when I “grow up”. I’ve been so overwhelmed with this balanced translocation and trying to conceive for a year now. I quit my job about 13 months ago. Last year at this time we were about to go on a wonderful roadtrip for a couple of months and take some time off. So now that we have finally gotten to this point and I’ve turned 38 I think it is time to come up with some goals for the next year.

38 things to do before I turn 39

1. make three new friends

2. finish my portfolio site (the sooner the better)

3. go to Alaska

4. sew something

5. start a garden, however small that may be

6. can something (as in preserves)

7. start yoga again

8. take a letterpress class

9. learn more about photography

10. buy a house

11. purge things that we don’t need

12. read a novel just for fun

13. knit a baby blanket

14. design wedding invitations

15. sell more things on etsy

16. come up with a budget

17. volunteer somewhere

18. see some live music

19. visit Mt. Rainier

20. start a website on Balanced Translocations

21. update my other blog (honeyandthyme.com)

22. design a baby room

23. learn a new skill

24. organize

25. ride my bike

26. make fresh pasta

27. do something completely out of my comfort zone

28. swim

29. be happier

30. be less shy

31. see friends more often

32. be more crafty

33. paint with my acrylics

34. be kinder

35. relax with my husband

36. hike

37. go to Whistler

38. have a baby!

We’ll see how this year goes. 🙂

H

  1. #1 by ktbug on June 15, 2012 - 2:40 am

    I am so very happy for you. I’m glad to hear that things are starting to fall into place with you and your family. I hope everything goes well for you and wish you nothing but happiness and health. I will be 26 in a couple of weeks and hope I can be able to start a family within these next couple of months. Please keep us updated on your pregnancy and congratulations!!! Any names yet???

  2. #2 by Aine Tierney on June 29, 2012 - 1:28 am

    I’m so glad to see your blog! I have just been diagnosed with 3-way chromosome translocation while going through fertility tests. Please keep us updated on your progress.

Leave a comment